Broker Administration Guide

What is a Broker Administrator?

The Broker Administrator’s role is to keep the agency’s user records up to date, authorise new users, reset passwords and give users access to online functionality including Commercial Quotes & Cover Notes.

A Broker Administrator is someone who works within the brokerage who has been nominated by the Broker Principal to look after user access on TheHub

Why do we need a Broker Administrator?

As part of the terms and conditions for using TheHub, all agencies should have a Broker Administrator in place.

It is the Broker Administrator's responsibility to keep user records up to date.

It is also the Broker Administrator's responsibility to notify new users of their User ID when accounts are activated and whenever a user has a query relating to their User ID.

How does my agency appoint a new Broker Administrator?

If your agency does not have a Broker Administrator in place, or you would like to replace the current Administrator, please complete a Broker Administration Nomination Form.

Click here to download the Broker Administration Nomination Form.

Once completed, please sign, scan and email it across to brokersupport@nig-uk.com.

We will arrange for your chosen Broker Administrator’s account to be activated.

It is recommended that your agency has more than one Broker Administrator to cover holidays and absence. 

This form should also be used if you wish to change your Broker Administrator at any time. 

How do I add new users?

To add a new user, please follow the steps below.

  1. Login to TheHub at www.nig.com
    (Please contact us via brokersupport@nig-uk.com if you have forgotten your username or password, alternatively use the self service password reset option).
  2. Select 'Add New User' at the bottom of the page
  3. Complete the users details and select which functionality they will require access to (such as Commercial Quotes and Cover Notes).
  4. Automated emails will then be sent to the inbox of the email address used during registration to confirm the username and password.


Why shouldn’t users have shared email addresses?

When a new user applies for an account, they are asked to enter an email address.

This email address is used by NIG to send information about TheHub to the user and also to communicate new username and password details. Login details should be kept secure and we encourage each user to have an individual email address set up as opposed to a shared email address which is used by other colleagues.

How do I reset my password?

Providing you know your username, you can use the self service password reset facility. This can be found under the login section on the homepage by clicking on the ‘Forgotten Password?’ link.

Alternatively you can email the NIG Broker Support Team (brokersupport@nig-uk.comwho can reset it for you. (You will need your Agency Number or Username when contacting Broker Support)

How do I reset passwords for other users?

You are able to reset passwords for other users in your agency and they will receive new password details straight away. To do this, please follow the steps below:

  1. Login to TheHub using your username and password.
  2. Click on ‘Amend’ to the right of the user which you need to reset.
  3. Check that the user’s email address is correct (if not, please update the e-mail address, save changes and return to step 2)
  4. Scroll down to the bottom of the page, and click 'Generate New Password' once.
  5. The user will then receive an email containing their new password.

How do I amend a user’s access?

  1. Login to TheHub using your username and password.
  2. Click on ‘Amend’ to the right of the user which you wish to amend.
  3. Tick/untick the boxes next to the user's name under the relevant service to add or remove access.
  4. Click 'Save Changes' at the bottom of the page.
  5. The user will need to log out and log back in for their account to show the changes.

How do I give a user access to Cover Notes?

  1. Login to TheHub using your username and password.
  2. Click on ‘Amend’ to the right of the user which you wish to amend.
  3. Tick the ‘Cover Notes’ check box
  4. Click 'Save Changes' at the bottom of the page.
  5. The user will need to log out and log back in for their account to show the changes.

How do I amend a user’s details?

In order to amend the name of a user a request must be sent to brokersupport@nig-uk.com

Salutation, Phone Number and e-mail addresses should be amended by the Broker Administrator:

  1. Login to TheHub using your username and password.
  2. Click on ‘Amend’ to the right of the user which you wish to amend.
  3. Change the relevant information in the required field.
  4. Click 'Save Changes' at the bottom of the page.
  5. The user will need to log out and log back in for their account to show the changes.

How do I amend a username if someone’s name has changed?

Usernames are system generated when the account is set up. If you change a person's name on the system for example, if they get married, their username will remain the same.

If the user would like their username to change too, you will need to deactivate their current user account then add the user again using their new username. The system will generate a new username based on the new surname.

HOW DO I DEACTIVATE ACCOUNTS THAT ARE NO LONGER REQUIRED?

If a member of staff is no longer employed by your agency, or you no longer want an individual to have access, it is very important that their account is deactivated for security reasons.

Users should be deactivated by the Broker Administrator as soon as access is no longer required.

  1. Login to TheHub using your username and password.
  2. Click on ‘Amend’ to the right of the user which you wish to amend.
  3. Uncheck the ‘Account Active’ tick box
  4. Click 'Save Changes' at the bottom of the page.

How do I reactivate a locked user?

To reactivate a locked user please follow the instructions below:

  1. Login to TheHub using your username and password.
  2. Click on ‘Amend’ to the right of the user which you wish to amend.
  3. Uncheck the ‘locked’ tick box
  4. Click 'Save Changes' at the bottom of the page